NARFE Applauds Senate Passage of TSP Modernization Act

11/7/17 Alexandria, VA – The National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association (NARFE) applauds passage of the TSP Modernization Act of 2017, H.R. 3031, by the Senate on November 6. The legislation would provide more flexible withdrawal options for Thrift Savings Plan (TSP) participants. With passage in the House of Representatives last month, the bill […]

House passes Senate version of Budget Resolution without cuts to benefits

10/26/17 House Passes Senate Version of Budget Resolution: No UPMA Benefit Hits On Thursday morning, October 26, the House of Representatives narrowly approved the Senate’s version of the fiscal year 2018 budget, House Concurrent Resolution 71, as amended by the Senate. The 216-212 vote permits many UPMA members to breathe a sigh of relief for […]

Over 80 Lawmakers Call for Improved Mail Service Protections in Comprehensive Postal Reform Legislation

WASHINGTON D.C. –  A bicameral group of more than 80 legislators from the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives in calling for adding lasting solutions to improve and protect mail delivery and service in comprehensive U.S. Postal Service reform legislation introduced in the House. In the letter, which was led by Senators Heidi Heitkamp […]

Postal News Recap: Shirley Temple, USPS vehicles, gyrocopter, senate, eeo

 Senate Committee held hearing today on nomination of Jeffrey Rosen to USPS Board of Governors USPS awards $96 million contract for 3,339 Extended Capacity Delivery Vehicles Letter Carrier Doug Hughes gets 120 Days in prison for flying Gyrocopter without pilot license  McConnell EEO Class Action case challenging USPS NRP still in limbo USPS: Shirley Temple […]

Mailer groups urge Senate to vote on USPS Board Of Governors nominees

A group of mailers sent the following letter to U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs Chairman Sen. Ron Johnson and Ranking Member Sen. Tom Carper. The letter is urging  Johnson and Carper to press the full Senate to vote on nominees for  USPS Board of Governors. In September 2015, APWU, Federal Unions and […]

Federal Union says OPM offered protections only to limited number of affected individuals

June 23, 2015  Washington, D.C.—The Office of Personnel Management (OPM) should immediately offer free credit and identity theft protection to all federal employees following the recent cyberattacks, which compromised the personal and financial details for an unknown number of current and former workers, the leader of National Treasury Employees Union (NTEU) told a Senate panel […]

TISA: Another Secret Trade Deal Threatens Public Postal Service, Workers

June 23, 2015  The Senate on Tuesday voted to advance President Obama’s trade agenda, approving a measure to end debate on fast-track authority. The 60-37 motion sets up a vote on final passage on Wednesday. If the Senate approves fast-track or trade promotion authority (TPA), it would then be sent to Obama’s desk to become […]

Senate takes 5 years to approve 5 USPS Board of Governors nominees – FOUR more still needed

June 16, 2015 Today, David Shapira’s nomination to the USPS Board of Governors was approved by the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee. David. Shapira is Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President of Giant Eagle, Inc, a $10 billion company with nearly 40,000 employees. Shapira and 4 other nominees must now await confirmation by the […]

Senate Opposes USPS Service Cuts

APWU Calls Vote ‘Significant Development’ The Senate approved a motion on S. Con. Res. 11 introduced by Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT) that instructs budget conferees to insist on a deficit-neutral fund to halt mail processing center closures, restore overnight mail delivery, and protect rural services. A deficit-neutral amendment may not increase the nation’s deficit. The […]

President Obama re-nominates five of six for USPS Board of Governors

Victoria Kennedy  is not on the list of re-nominations for USPS Board of Governors. President Obama has nominated Stephen Crawford and James Miller III to the Postal Service Board of Governors. Crawford is a research professor at George Washington University in Washington, DC. Miller, a senior advisor at law firm Husch Blackwell, previously served as […]